Medellin: Que Chimba!

It’s hard to put into words a trip to a foreign country. Heck, I didn’t even get to a blog post for my 3 weeks in Panama last year! That was likely for different reasons though, nursing a broken heart being the biggest one…


But the point is, I am back. Rejuvenated and re-focused. My two-week stay in Colombia was nothing short of spectacular. I was tempted to use the word perfect, but alas, no such thing. However, it as well as a trip to a country who has battled civil and drug wars for the better part of the last 70 years could!

Colombia has all my interests, wellness, hiking, language, music and dance, and adventure. It was a slow start as I was digital nomading a bit at the cafes to close some lose ends at work before signing off for a week or so. To my surprise, I was not the only one. Each morning my go-to cafe, Hija Mia, was bustling with nomads clicking away on their lap tops or schmoozing on ZOOM calls. I knew I picked the right area to stay in when I saw this (Manilla). Trust me, if you want an authentic neighborhood experience in El Poblado, that is close to the Metro, this is the zone.

I saw some old friends for dinner and met some new friends there too. I was immediately struck by the strong expat community in Colombia, but as a I learned more about the country, its commitment to democratic ideals, and improving its standing the world stage, it started to make more sense. Two of these friends introduced me to a wonderfully gifted shaman, Themis. I was curious about Ayahuasca and Rapé and I finally found a trusted friend and guide to experience it with.

I will likely write a separate blog post on the Rapé and Cacao ceremony I completed, but I will mention here that it is not for the faint of heart. It was challenging for a few moments, but worthwhile especially within a loving trusted environment. Themis studied anthropology and was a botanical whiz, I knew I was in good hands and I can honestly say using the power of the mind and intention building, the medicine worked on the areas I had in need!

After this ceremony and a dizzy ride back to the city, I felt initiated, I was truly in Colombia now. Little did I know, it was only the beginning.

The pièce de résistance was just around the corner, and its name was Cerro Tusa. At 1950 meters about sea level, the largest natural pyramid (of volcanic origins!) in the world, and iayers upon layers of indigenous history (Zenufaná lineage) I could not resist the opportunity to hike this majestic beauty. I can honestly say this trek tested everything I had inside of me. It was probably a 70 degree incline the entire way up and all you had for leverage were your surroundings and a rope. The presence, the discipline, the focus, and the flow totally enraptured me. And all of us. If it didn’t, one small distraction could mean a major mistake. Thank God, we all made it to the top, safely and together. It was a heavenly view of Cerro San Nicholas of the Farallones de Citará which are part of the Cordillera Occidental (the Colombian Andes).

Sitting on the apex of this wonder, looking out at a 360 degree view of the northern Andes was breathtaking and wonderous. Knowing I could make this ascent, and feeling the sacred energy and history on each step of the trail, made all the complexities of “real life” seem like a breeze. Like this blog’s title, I was reminded, we are perpetually learning and growing. Just when you think you have the path solidified, life throws you a natural pyramid….

But from here the rest of the trip certainly was like that saying, ‘wind at my back’….

Stay tuned for part 2.

2 thoughts on “Medellin: Que Chimba!

Leave a comment